Reviews

What people are saying about Castle Hotel




Good value, helpful staff - Rating 4/5

Good location close to amenities. Helpful friendly staff.

Reviewer:JULIE L | Wed 25th Mar 2020 | 1 month ago


Clean and quiet - Rating 4/5

Receptionists were very friendly with the virus scare you could get a drink but you had to drink it in your room

Reviewer:Neville J | Mon 23rd Mar 2020 | 1 month ago


For the rugby - Rating 3/5

9 of us stayed at the hotel two were oaps 89 and 86 they complained that the toilet was not flushing and for the whole stay it was never fixed.. Offered to move to a other room but being oaps they didn't want to move as had unbacked there cases... The hotel was clean staff were very helpful and breakfast was good at a reasonable price.. Would have gave the hotel a better review if the toilet problem was sorted right away other than that would stay again as good staff and hotel central to all amenities

Response

Apologies, we checked and explained to them some toilets have to flush fast and twice, we understand their age try help and offered another room but they were reluctant to move.

Reviewer:Leslie R | Thu 19th Mar 2020 | 2 months ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Staff are great hotel central,if u havea car there is parking near by 3.50 per day.dont leave your tyre on the white line, this cost me 30 pound last year. Staff remember to ask the customer if they prefer white or brown bread, tea or coffee,eggs fried or scrambled, first morning superb second morning average.room lovely and warm

Reviewer:Gary K | Mon 16th Mar 2020 | 2 months ago


Location- Rating 5/5

The owner was very helpful

Reviewer:lynda d | Tue 10th Mar 2020 | 2 months ago


Really comfy- Rating 4/5

Always enjoy our stay, clean and comfortable rooms, lovely staff lovely breakfast. Our 3rd time at the hotel

Reviewer:Sharon M | Mon 2nd Mar 2020 | 2 months ago


Ok - Rating 4/5

Had to wait a long time at check in for a member of staff both during the afternoon and evening despite ring bell. Room was fine and bed comfortable, drawers could do with having the knobs missing replaced for sake of a few pounds. Had difficulty getting the mixer tap shower to work, either burning hot or freezing cold and a trickle rather than a shower, however good value for the money and breakfast 'bob on'

Reviewer:Neil G | Mon 24th Feb 2020 | 2 months ago


Won\'t be staying there again. - Rating 2/5

Very basic,bed clean and comfortable, hot during the night, radiator valve missing, bathroom appeared clean but didn't fancy using the shower.. Apparently the first floor where we had a room had recently been refurbished. How ever young lad on reception was friendly.

Reviewer:kim M | Fri 7th Feb 2020 | 3 months ago


Drafty windows- Rating 3/5

Dated hotel however was spotlessly clean the curtains were blowing as draft from the windows. Painters were in hotel at 730am on Friday morningwith radio on and chatting away on corridors outside room.

Reviewer:Doreen P | Sun 2nd Feb 2020 | 3 months ago


Absolutelty fantastic - Rating 5/5

So helpfulrestaurant fantastuc .cheap but excellent food.nice rooms ;nithing to much troubke.Vera Manages the hoteltotally in control.Will akways stay we booked 20 + rooms

Reviewer:PAULA J | Thu 23rd Jan 2020 | 3 months ago


Nothing brilliant- Rating 3/5

ok If your not a hotel snob and you just want somewhere to get your head down.There’s nothing special about the hotel, the staff are really friendly and very helpful.Could do with some update bed room equipment, maybe the cleaner needs a reminder to clean on top of the wardrobe once in a while, but like I said you get what you pay for I guess.

Reviewer:Simon D | Tue 7th Jan 2020 | 4 months ago


Comfortable- Rating 4/5

Friendly staff and a nice comfortable room

Reviewer:James T | Sat 21st Dec 2019 | 5 months ago


Friendly Hotel in Town Centre - Rating 4/5

Another successful visit to Merthyr. Hotel is well set for evening spent eating out and close to secure car park. Lovely cooked to order breakfast and very friendly staff.

Reviewer:Ian W | Wed 18th Dec 2019 | 5 months ago


Great Service - Rating 5/5

Very helpful staff. Nice comfy room.Thank You

Reviewer:martyn J | Thu 28th Nov 2019 | 5 months ago


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

Fab stay yet again. Love this hotel so clean. Room are always stunning. Staff so friendly.Cant wait for our next stay. ????????

Response

Thanks Kim

Reviewer:Kim D | Fri 22nd Nov 2019 | 5 months ago


Wonderful hotel and staff - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel will definitely stay again hotel staff was very nice and could not do enough for you all wher fantastic

Reviewer:lewis john c | Sat 16th Nov 2019 | 6 months ago


Very basic - Rating 4/5

Staff were very nice and willing toplease,stayedovernightready for a dance competition,very basic breakfast only cereal and cooked breakfaston menu, tea was cold in the teapot , and coffee was cold in the pot, couldn’t add hot waterat 7.am ,as it was on a hot plate, I think they should upgrade to a hot drink’s machine, asIneeded a hot teaready for a busy day,cheap and cheerful, but location was suitable for us.

Reviewer:Kathryn C | Mon 11th Nov 2019 | 6 months ago


Rather old hotel for family - Rating 2/5

Room sufficient for 4 people.Room dark, furniture old and could be cleaner. I asked them to vacuum the room but no one did it although I was given a promise.Not enough staff at the reception. Some residents do not appear genuine tourists. General experience not as good for family.Breakfast poor although they only charge 6 pounds for adult , we did not take the breakfast again.

Reviewer:Anthony T | Sun 3rd Nov 2019 | 6 months ago


Nice place to stay in Merthyr Tydfil - Rating 4/5

Friendly service and clean rooms. Good location.

Reviewer:William P | Sat 26th Oct 2019 | 6 months ago


Comfortable- Rating 5/5

Comfortable room, good food, pleasant staff.

Reviewer:j | Fri 25th Oct 2019 | 6 months ago


My stay at The Castle Hotel - Rating 5/5

I enjoyed my stay at the Castle Hotel over the weekend. The staff were helpful and obliging and the restaurant meals were good and fillingThe bar was well laid out and again the staff were helpful and accommodating. My room was clean and kept cleanand tidy by the staff. Thank you and I hope to return again to the hotel again for the Aberfan Memorial service next year. Thanks again .Mick Bagand

Reviewer:MICHAEL B | Tue 22nd Oct 2019 | 7 months ago


Scatter family - Rating 4/5

Had very enjoyable stop. 2 nights staff very helpful. We had room 405 nice big room could do with extra bed side table.

Reviewer:Rob R | Mon 21st Oct 2019 | 7 months ago


Stay - Rating 5/5

Love?y stay very helpfull but can i just say it be good to have a little fridge in the room to keep drinks cold and the milk cause the milk was goin of and my partner needs his medication to be kept in fridge

Reviewer:Lynette R | Sun 13th Oct 2019 | 7 months ago


Faultless- Rating 5/5

Thank you for looking after my mother

Reviewer:MICHAEL H | Mon 7th Oct 2019 | 7 months ago


Need to pick up on the details - Rating 4/5

Nice hotel - I had a good sized room for a sensible price. It's in the city centre so there's noise from the neighbours - bring earplugs if you are overly sensitive to this.Ther were some silly niggly things with my room - couldn't get the shower to work, the phone wasn't working, a broken lightswitch. The sort of things that just need a little attention to sort out.

Reviewer:Philip R | Sun 6th Oct 2019 | 7 months ago


business trip - Rating 4/5

comfortable rooms;helpful staff;and a very good breakfast

Reviewer:george s | Fri 4th Oct 2019 | 7 months ago


Mr Mark jones - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay clean tidy comfortable with easy access to all shops pubs and venues the staff were all polite respectful and really helpful all in all ten out of ten

Reviewer:Mark j | Tue 1st Oct 2019 | 7 months ago


Weekend stay- Rating 4/5

On arrival we booked in and i aaked if i coul f add breakfast to which the lady receptionist said we already had breakfasts on our bookiing but on departure we were met with a £12 bill for breakfasts. However the room was clean and comfortable. The staff where very friendly.The only thing that let it down was miscomunication about breakfast.

Reviewer:Rhonda S | Mon 30th Sep 2019 | 7 months ago


Stay at castle- Rating 3/5

Very nice hotel little dated the chair in our room and bed was broke had to ask for toilet roll there was no toiletries in the bath room would like to come back but to a room that had what you needed and a bed that was comfortable

Reviewer:Samantha C | Sun 29th Sep 2019 | 7 months ago


Go for it - Rating 5/5

Beautiful location, really good service. They do a tasteful breakfast. The hotel is clean, spacious.The staff is very friendly and attentive. Hopefully I will come back.One thing to consider is the parking. There are planets spaces to park, ones to pay for, others not. Depends when you will leave your car parked.

Reviewer:Elena-Ruxanda C | Sat 28th Sep 2019 | 7 months ago


Brak A Way - Rating 5/5

Nice Hotel, Very Clean, Staff very polite, Nice meals, And if you're staying for more then one day you always come back to a cleanroom.

Reviewer:Richard G | Fri 27th Sep 2019 | 7 months ago


Okay - Rating 2/5

Rooms are okay, a bit dated. I found every single member of staff I came across as rude.

Reviewer:Isla W | Thu 26th Sep 2019 | 7 months ago


Fair - Rating 3/5

The decor of the double room allocate to me needs very serious uplift. The bath towel has unpleasant smell.

Reviewer:Malcolm A | Sun 22nd Sep 2019 | 8 months ago


Great hotel- Rating 5/5

Great hotel great welcome well informed reception great location will be back

Reviewer:Chris T | Sat 21st Sep 2019 | 8 months ago


Excellent as always! - Rating 5/5

The Castle Hotel and Merthyr itself is always my head-to destination.The rooms are excellent, and the staff friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:John L | Sat 21st Sep 2019 | 8 months ago


Excellent Hotel - Rating 5/5

Staff are always helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Food is very good value and hotel is very clean.

Reviewer:PJ HEGARTY UK L | Fri 20th Sep 2019 | 8 months ago


Comfortable Hotel - Rating 4/5

Stayed here on a cycle tour from Holyhead to Cardiff. The hotel was clean and comfortable, we had a good breakfast and the staff were accommodating. They allowed us to store our bikes securely in a conference room and allowed us to hang around the bar before departure whilst the rain eased.

Reviewer:Sue B | Sun 15th Sep 2019 | 8 months ago


Excellent and very welcoming- Rating 5/5

Another excellent and very comfortable stay st the Castle hotel.Very friendly staff and nice roomClean hotelThank you and hope to see you again

Reviewer:GWILYM E | Sun 8th Sep 2019 | 8 months ago


Comfy night stay - Rating 5/5

For a late arrival on Friday night the town was surprisingly quiet. Parking was easy, check in swift &got two large bedrooms fot our family room stay. Very comfy beds &no aircon which was refreshingly a welcome change compared to Prem Inn/ Travelodge which are often stiflingly hot. Very clean throughout. Slept well didnt bother with breakfast, a staff member even came to check if we wanted room service instead! How lovely. Diolch am noson da o gwsg. Thanks for a good stay.

Reviewer:Nia W | Sun 8th Sep 2019 | 8 months ago


Our stay - Rating 1/5

Apart from a 20min wait for reception to issue us with our key a excellent review. Comfy bed. Clean. Quiet. Yummy breakfast.Will stay again if that way.could not set star rating but a 5.

Reviewer:Tony S | Fri 16th Aug 2019 | 9 months ago


travelling for a one night break - Rating 3/5

website stated this hotel had onsite parking which it did not, we were told to park in the pay and display car park across the road!

Reviewer:carol j | Mon 12th Aug 2019 | 9 months ago


Good hotel - Rating 4/5

Nice hotel, greeted with a smile, shower was a bit slow to warm up, but other than that great comfy nights sleep.

Reviewer:Stephen C | Tue 6th Aug 2019 | 9 months ago


Excellent Value - Rating 5/5

Very clean hotel with friendly, helpful staff

Response

thank you

Reviewer:NIGEL W | Thu 1st Aug 2019 | 9 months ago


A Must - Rating 5/5

Faultless, warm frienldy staff

Reviewer:MICHAEL H | Tue 30th Jul 2019 | 9 months ago


Perfect Stay - Rating 5/5

Staff are very courteous and helpful. Bedrooms are clean and the hotel is clean as well. Food is basic but generous portions as very testy

Reviewer:PJ HAGERTY UK L | Mon 29th Jul 2019 | 9 months ago


deserve more grading - Rating 5/5

But a different to the hotel compare to last year,it is a big hotelcan not refurbished whole in one go, we can see owner investing big money ,Lovely reception,restaurant and some rooms,owner promise the rest of rooms will be bring to high standard this year,we recommend keep going back and see the difference you self,

Reviewer:m | Sun 28th Jul 2019 | 9 months ago


Adequate - Rating 3/5

Decent enough basic hotel. Friendly staff, clean room. On road parking. Didn’t eat there so can’t comment on that.

Reviewer:Tim F | Thu 25th Jul 2019 | 9 months ago


General review- Rating 4/5

Good valve for money really enjoyed the food staff very friendlysome of the rooms are being re-furnished all in all enjoyed my stay

Reviewer:Steve F | Wed 24th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Nice stay - Rating 3/5

Lovely stay but should have mentioned that leaving time that weekend was before 8am. Lovely free breakfast has compension though

Reviewer:Charlie O | Tue 23rd Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Friendly - Rating 5/5

Clean quiet hotel. Friendly staff

Reviewer:Neville J | Tue 23rd Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


castle hotel - Rating 5/5

very nice stay and good location

Reviewer:Audrey m | Mon 22nd Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


good stay - Rating 4/5

the rooms are clean as they say its near the town and all services the parking is in the multi story carpark just up the road the breakfast is excellent well worth the moneyso is the sunday roast calvery would recommend

Reviewer:Allan T | Mon 22nd Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Good find - Rating 3/5

Very friendly and efficient check in, clean and comfortable hotel room.

Reviewer:Julie R | Sun 21st Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Outside looks bad inside OK- Rating 5/5

Hotel is fine! Don’t judge a book by its cover

Reviewer:Tony B | Fri 19th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


....overnighter. - Rating 5/5

....pleasant stay. Hotel decor is a little dated but the hotel is very clean, staff friendly and welcoming.Room was comfortable and spacious.Breakfast was good...surface car parking opposite the hotel... £1 all day on Saturdays..free on Sunday. The multistorey car park is closed on a Sunday so be careful if stopping a Saturday night.

Reviewer:Stephen W | Mon 15th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Mrs - Rating 5/5

This hotel is very comfortable,friendly staff.The restaurant served a good variety of food which is well prepared &presrnted.I would be happy to return there

Reviewer:Jennifer G | Fri 12th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Business Trip- Rating 4/5

Much better room this time and breakfast cooked to order. Efficient check in and check out.

Reviewer:Ian W | Thu 11th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Good stay - Rating 4/5

Thank you to Vera who is absolutely lovely and hepful

Reviewer:J | Wed 3rd Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Ideally situated - Rating 4/5

Clean and tidy hotel, very helpful staff and ideally situated in the centre of town - good price too.

Reviewer:Philip D | Mon 1st Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Mr - Rating 4/5

beds very comfortablevery quietgood hot water and showerbreakfast ok and quickgood position in the town

Reviewer:Alan b | Thu 27th Jun 2019 | 10 months ago


Castle hotel- Rating 4/5

Excellent value for money and very clean

Reviewer:Malcolm k | Tue 25th Jun 2019 | 10 months ago


Excellent Value - Rating 5/5

Rooms are a little tired. But very spacious and very clean. Warm corridors. Friendly staff. Evening meal was wonderful. Hot plates. Good food. Fab chef. Breakfast was excellent. Again hot plates and cooked to order. Lighting could be a luttle dimmer in restaurant in the evening for a luttle atmosphere. Definately recommend this hotel. We will return and hope more people dine here too.

Reviewer:Nicola B | Tue 18th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


A week in Wales - Rating 4/5

Excelent base for travelling around the area. Good amenities, warm welcoming staff.

Reviewer:Thomas O | Thu 6th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


May visit - Rating 3/5

Given a room upgrade for no additional charge was nice. Easy access to parking and town. Good breakfast.

Reviewer:Darren H | Sat 1st Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Well-appointed clean rooms

Reviewer:Byron H | Mon 27th May 2019 | 11 months ago


Great budget hotel - Rating 4/5

I’m staying here for a few weeks whilst working in Wales. Rooms are clean and comfortable with daily service. Staff are really helpfuland go out of their way to assist. Breakfast is plentiful and good value at £6. Restaurant at evening is quiet and basic but adequate if you don’t want to bother going out for a meal. A great base if you want to keep costs down.

Reviewer:mark e | Sat 18th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Hotel adequate, but in need of TLC - Rating 3/5

The Castle Hotel had everything we needed, but was generally a bit on the tatty side- ie one of the windows in our room was taped shut, the paint was peeling from the wall above the window, the curtain fixtures were torn and some of the lights didn’t work.However the facilities were fine, the breakfast delicious and the staff serving breakfast were very pleasant and helpful. It was good value for money, in a convenient location- the hotel itself could probably just do with a facelift!

Reviewer:Josie A | Mon 29th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Happy Traveler\'s. - Rating 5/5

Working in Cardiff most Hotels and B &B's in the area were remote with not much to do around and expensive to eat or drink in the more remote places so I looked further afield after staying at a few other places I found the Castle Hotel. Very reasonable priced good location with plenty to do after work. Parking available and free cancellation.

Reviewer:David E | Wed 17th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Castle hotel - Rating 3/5

To be fair to this hotel, my stay was ok, but just ok. Very clean and good breakfast but the hotel is generally a tired and dreary looking place. Everything is basic. Bad shower but good bath, tiny TV &light bulbs missing in an already dull room. Parking is 200 yards away in a municipal car park is only free until 08:00, which means paying if staying and touring by foot. only a 3 star rating from me.

Reviewer:Bob H | Fri 5th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Great Location- Rating 4/5

Me and my wife stayed here for a weekend. Location is great and staff is very friendly and helpful. The only issue we had was the water pressure in the shower was very low, also the hot water was not constant.Apart from that, it was all good.

Reviewer:Mubashir Q | Mon 18th Feb 2019 | 1 year ago


Good value - Rating 3/5

Very clean and tidy hotel condiering how cheap the rooms were. Would use again .

Reviewer:Dale M | Sat 2nd Feb 2019 | 1 year ago


Stay at the Castle - Rating 4/5

Friendly. Clean. Welcoming

Reviewer:Steve E | Sun 23rd Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Wonderful Hotel- Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel, beautiful, very large room (suite) amazing value for money. Hardworking, lovely staff and the food in the restaurant was seriously good! We will be back again soon. Thanks very much.

Reviewer:Julie C | Thu 20th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

Where do I start. Amazing staff,Comfy bed, good food and a price you can't beat.Thank you very much

Reviewer:LEANNE P | Sun 16th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Ideal - Rating 4/5

Stayed recently to attend a family wedding.The Castle Hotel was ideal for our purpose.The room was clean, very comfortable and cosy.My only gripe is that the whole hotel smells of cooking.Something that I noticed on a previous stay.

Reviewer:Annette E | Fri 14th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


friendly staff - Rating 5/5

Excellent location,very clean,friendly staff

Reviewer:Mrs. Nicola L | Mon 10th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Castle hotel - Rating 4/5

Helpful staff nice food comfortable stay

Reviewer:Colin m | Mon 19th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Our stay - Rating 4/5

Fab place. We stay here every year in November. Staff are so polite &helpful. Always have a lovely time. Now they are decorating it is beautiful.😀😀😀

Reviewer:Steven D | Sat 10th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Warm and relaxing - Rating 5/5

I was staying at the Castle for one.I enjoyed it very much. Oldish hotel yet very warm and comfortable.Just what needed.Lovely staff.Lovely hot water for bath.Very central.Will go back.

Reviewer:Bronwen J | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


CASTLE HOTEL - Rating 4/5

Accommodation was very good and all the staff friendly. My only problem was with wifi. It worked in the corridor but not in the room.Overall very good value for money.

Reviewer:david d | Sun 14th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


room - Rating 3/5

shower was no gooddidnt have any power not enough plugsrooms too hot

Reviewer:Tracy B | Sun 7th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Castle Hotel, Merthyr Tydgil - Rating 5/5

Very clean hotel, well placed for visitors to Merthyr Tydfil with good value breakfast and excellent and very helpful reception staff.

Reviewer:John F | Sat 25th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


1 night stay - Rating 5/5

only stayed for 1 night but would have stayed longer if needed to,don't be put off by the outside appearance.the staff were friendly the room that we stayed in was of a good size &everything was very clean, the hotel was excellently situated for the town centre

Reviewer:Lynn W | Fri 24th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Better than expected- Rating 5/5

I booked this hotel as I was attending my nieces wedding, I looked at the front of the property, thinking oh what is my stay going to be like, as the hotel doesn’t look very nice on the outside, but how wrong was I, as I booked in a gentleman and young lady greeted me and my family, he was very helpfulwith information and they booked a taxi for us, nothing was to much trouble for them, inside of the hotel was lovely and presentable, rooms were ok, for the price, lovely and clean, tea and coffee supplied and soaps etc, next morning we had the cooked breakfast, with toast, cereal, orange juice etc, I was also impressed by the quality of the bacon, sausages. I haven’t had a good quality breakfast in along time, this was excellent value for this breakfast, the staff were also very friendly, and courteous at all times, I would go back and stay at this hotel again, Thank you castle hotel, keep up with your hard work 😀

Reviewer:tracy j | Tue 21st Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Wifi and Shower - Rating 3/5

No Wifi on 4th floor couldnt pick it up. Plus Shower was very slow no power.

Reviewer:Trevor O M | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Great stay, lovely hotel - Rating 4/5

The hotel is very central and parking is easy and not too expensive. The room is a bit aged but well maintained. The only thing that I would like to bring up, is the mattress needs replacing!

Reviewer:Chih-Hao K | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


breakfast - Rating 3/5

very happy with hotel room..clean and relaxing.Service at breakfast was poor, food good, but had to ask three times for condiments and sauces from waitress...

Reviewer:richard h | Tue 17th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Refurbishment- Rating 3/5

The hotel was reasonable, but the rooms were so hot it made it uncomfortable to sleep even with the fan provided,( which I presume is why the fans are left in the rooms).I think the hotel is in need of a refurbishment.

Reviewer:Ronnie M | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Nice room - Rating 4/5

The room was a lovely size but very warm with been on the top floor.

Reviewer:charlene m | Sun 10th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Castle Hotel - Rating 4/5

Good place to stay and has the added advantage of an excellent restaurant. Value for money.

Reviewer:Bruce M | Mon 28th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Very Good Stay - Rating 4/5

Excellent food, room very clean. Overall enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Nicholas L | Thu 3rd May 2018 | 2 years ago


Piet in Castle - Rating 4/5

Stayed a few days inCastle Hotel Merthyr Tydfill.Hotel located in centre of Merthyr and not expensive.Food is OKStaff is friendly.Will go there on my next trip.

Reviewer:PIET H | Fri 27th Apr 2018 | 2 years ago


Good economy hotel - Rating 4/5

Fit for purpose.Helpful staff.Central location. Multi storey nearby (extra cost of £3.50 per d.). Clean, but furnishings a little tired.

Reviewer:Jeff W | Wed 25th Apr 2018 | 2 years ago


Mr Homer Happy Customer- Rating 4/5

Nice clean and comfortable, breakfast was good value for money. Friendly staff, would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Derrick H | Wed 18th Apr 2018 | 2 years ago


Happy Customer- Rating 4/5

Nice clean hotel with a breakfast well worth its value. Very helpful and friendly staff, We would definitely recommend anyone on a last minute visit.

Reviewer:Derrick H | Wed 18th Apr 2018 | 2 years ago


Clean and tidy- Rating 5/5

Fantastic staff, very helpful, breakfast was quick and of good quality. Room clean and tidy and spacious. All in all a very good experience. Shall be using regular when going to Bike Park Wales .

Reviewer:Mark D | Sun 18th Mar 2018 | 2 years ago


First visit - Rating 5/5

My first visit to the Castle Hotel, very impressed!friendly and helpful staff, I will be returning.

Reviewer:michael i | Thu 15th Mar 2018 | 2 years ago


Basic but clean room- Rating 3/5

The bed was very comfortable and staff were friendly. I parked mear by but I would have had difficulty with parking had it been during the day. Hotel was old and tired but rates are very reasonable

Reviewer:Teresa Foster E | Wed 14th Mar 2018 | 2 years ago


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

Great hotel, great manager. Thanks

Reviewer:joe v | Mon 22nd Jan 2018 | 2 years ago


very friendly and clean but hotel can use a renovation - Rating 3/5

A very friendly welcome, beds were good en it was clean.The hotelis outdated and can use a renovation. Shower was cold in rush hour (or to hot). Breakfast is not recommendable

Reviewer:Simone G | Fri 1st Dec 2017 | 2 years ago


good value and location - Rating 4/5

Hotelis in the centre of merthyr close to shops, pubs and restaurants all within walking distance. Breakfast good value offering meaty and veggy alternatives. Yes the hotel is a little tired but staff welcoming and the rooms clean. Second time we have stayed here.

Reviewer:nigel R | Thu 12th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Great experience - Rating 5/5

Very helpful staffClean room

Reviewer:Ahmad I | Thu 12th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Good value! - Rating 4/5

Room was a little dated but was clean and was serviced every day with fresh towels. Staff were friendly &helpful. I didn't eat there as I ate with family, so I can't rate the food.

Reviewer:Patti M | Sun 6th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Overpriced - Rating 2/5

Paid £80 for £40 room the heaters could not be turned off it was 30c all night

Reviewer:bill b | Wed 26th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Great value - Rating 4/5

Great staff,great food,if your there on a Sunday don't miss the carvery!

Reviewer:Jeremy S | Tue 18th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Visit to Merthyr Tydfil - Rating 5/5

Friendly staff, clean room, delicious breakfast, warm welcome

Reviewer:Dorotea T | Fri 14th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Poor - Rating 1/5

The television only had two working channels, the curtains were all ripped, the tea cups were covered in dry coffee and had definatley not been cleaned. Only one of the two small windows in the room opened, there were no staff at the front desk when i arrived or left.

Reviewer:Daniel C | Fri 14th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Uncles Funeral - Rating 1/5

I would never stay here again and would never recommend it to anyone.Missing ceiling tiles in bathrooms on both rooms, to boil kettle in family room you had to put the kettle on the floor as no plug near cupboard it was on and the other 2 plugs are above a hot water pipe so if you domanage to get the plug in the bottom of it and the cable are sitting on the pipe, H&S would not allow thisif it was checked. No hanging space at all in the family room even though it sleeps 4 people.Very strong smell of canabis in the family room which made the 3 females ill with one of them being sick more than once.Hotel Supervisor and Hotel Manager refusing to come to the room aboutany of this but sid went when we were havng breakfast and could not see drug issues, how they expect to see the very over poering smell of canabis is beyond me.Hotel Manager rude, not helpful and walked away from us 3 times.They refused to give us the details of the owner as we wished to complain to them bout the Manager.We ended up reporting our concerns to the local police as the hotel were not interested.

Reviewer:Stuart H | Mon 29th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Castle hotel - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and wellcoming staff and owners. Excellent position in town to all ammenities especially for the purpose of my visit. I will definetely stay there again...

Reviewer:Ferid R | Sat 27th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Quality stay - Rating 5/5

Recently had a group of Engineers staying.The guys where happy with the hotel, staff and the location.Thank you

Reviewer:Mr. Darryl H | Mon 13th Mar 2017 | 3 years ago


Lovely hotel - Rating 4/5

My wife and Ifound this hotel clean good food, and the staff were great, rooms are very comfortable ,Mike from Devon

Reviewer:Mr. Michael F | Mon 19th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Good room - Rating 4/5

The room was nice,but the shower was so bad... No pressure... And no easy to set the temperature... I think it's time to change this...

Reviewer:Mr. Julien L | Tue 6th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


A great place to stay- Rating 4/5

Very friendly polite and professional staffThe hotel is clean and comfortableGreat value for money and I look forward to staying here again very soonThank you

Reviewer:Mr. GerardHoward| Sun 21st Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Aberdare races visit - Rating 3/5

Stayed one night during race event at aberdare. Good value for facilities but lack of on__site parking could provide problems. Wewere provided with bike parking inside the hotel which was unusual but effective. Lot of noise from revellers but main problem was lack of air conditioning. Tiny opening windows meant our room resembled a sauna until about 3am and sleep suffered. Good for the price but i would pay more for better facilities.

Reviewer:Mr. John spencer L | Mon 1st Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Review of our stay at Castle Hotel - Rating 4/5

The Castle was our central point for a week's stay in Merthyr Tydfil. Generally, we were quite satisfied with our experience - the staff were very helpful and courteous. The hotel was far from being full, and we were allocated a superior room;quite large and with all comforts. The hotel itself is some years old and is desperately in need of a makeover, both interior and exterior. Things like exterior signage falling apart, things like interior paintwork peeling, things like windows that wouldn't open, things like radiators that wouldn't turn off. Little things in themselves but they add up to a less than excellent impression to visitors. The dining room menu was OK, but only just. Breakfast again was OK, but somewhat short on choices.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert F | Thu 21st Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Best post-Welsh 3 Peaks hotel- Rating 5/5

This is the third time I have stayed at the Castle Hotel. They have everything you need after a strenuous day on the mountains - hot water, great food, cold been and wine, clean sheets and a cooked breakfast. They are very welcoming and flexible. Thank you Castle Hotel. Once again it was great to see you.

Reviewer:Mrs. Joanne T | Mon 20th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Good Stay - Rating 4/5

I arrived at mid day and official check in was not until 14:00hrs, however the room was ready and I was given access with an upgrade.Staff very friendly and helpful.Room and hotel clean, the bed was very comfortable.I will stay at the castle again, enjoyed.Capt. M. Royal Navy

Reviewer:Mr.Mark R S | Sat 21st May 2016 | 3 years ago


One night- Rating 3/5

A ideally located hotel in the town centre. The decor is tired and a little chintz for my taste however it was clean and comfortable.Although very friendly there is an opportunity here for some customer service training as upon check in I waited at an empty desk for way to long so my first impression was a poor one.The price was ok however there is a big chain in the town which is cheaper and more up to date but my preference is to support independent business'It's not great but it's not bad either!!!

Reviewer:Mr. iand | Tue 17th May 2016 | 4 years ago


Very Welcoming - Rating 4/5

Second time staying here when visiting BPW and as always they couldn't make us more welcome.

Reviewer:Mr. Matthew B | Mon 18th Apr 2016 | 4 years ago


Castle hotel merthyr - Rating 4/5

One night stay room only very good value

Reviewer:Mr. geoffrey p | Tue 23rd Feb 2016 | 4 years ago


Lovely Hotel - Rating 5/5

To all of the people who did not have nice things to say about this hotel, this was my first stay at The Castle Hotel and I found it excellent, the beds were so comfortable and the owner could not do enough for me. The lady who came from Aberdare (The receptionist) was very friendly and very helpful and I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Mr. ROBERT S | Tue 25th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


good value - Rating 4/5

very helpful staff, little dated accomodation,in town location so noise to be expected in evening, however excellent value.

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher M | Mon 22nd Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


overnight stopover - Rating 3/5

Decoration extremely dated, however, clean, comfortable, very friendly night porter (we arrived after 11 pm,) sufficient tea and coffee facilities. Bathroom as above but very weak shower. Value for money. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Eirwen S | Mon 25th May 2015 | 4 years ago


excellent hotel - Rating 5/5

excellent hotel ,lovely food,very pleasent and friendly staff ,in centre of town close to shopping and socalising will definatly be staying again

Reviewer:Mrs. elizabeth c | Mon 11th May 2015 | 5 years ago


brief stay - Rating 3/5

Although i only stayed briefly, for 1 night, i have to say that the receptionist was very pleasant, and helpful, and the room i had, while needing a little freshening up, was clean and tidy, and excellent value for money

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen P | Sun 25th Jan 2015 | 5 years ago


feedbaxk - Rating 3/5

Friendly , helpful staff, clean and tidy hotel.- comfy bed, good central location , good breakfast- no complaints for the cosr

Reviewer:Mr. Nick D | Thu 15th Jan 2015 | 5 years ago


Great stay - Rating 3/5

Great Budget Hotel, friendly staff, brilliant location when working in Merthyr. Has secure overnight parking a real value for money stay.

Reviewer:Mr. John D | Sat 11th Oct 2014 | 5 years ago


Feedback - Rating 3/5

the hotel is a nice hotel, pleasant friendly atmosphere and a very reasonable cost. My only issue was in relation to the breakfast. the quality of the breakfast was poor. the beans were cold and there was no egg. i noticed another guest having to ask for an egg - it is indicated on the menu after all. you can get an unlimited breakfast at harvester for £5 which is very competative. I know this might seem trivial but it is often these little things that present a positive brand image and when poor can affect the overall experience.

Reviewer:Mr. Leon P | Thu 25th Sep 2014 | 5 years ago


Castle Hotel - Rating 3/5

The hotel was very clean and Robert the night porter friendly and helpful.The room was a good size but the bed was a bit lopsided!The food was nice and the service was good.The hotel could do with a more contemporary decor.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark F | Tue 26th Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


Good food and service - Rating 4/5

All was good, the restaurant food excellent value and the room spacious and comfortable an outdoor sitting area would be an asset to the hotel. The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:Mr. Dan G | Wed 23rd Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


large family group - Rating 4/5

Ideal location;rooms clean and comfortable. Have stayed before, probably stay again. Car parking is only concern.

Reviewer:Mr. Iain Moffat M | Sun 15th Jun 2014 | 5 years ago


Value for Money - Rating 4/5

This was a pleasant hotel, helpful staff, large clean bedroom.Generous food portions, not cordon bleu, but no problems.I would stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. John D | Tue 22nd Apr 2014 | 6 years ago


Lovely service and a hot breakfast! - Rating 4/5

We felt very welcome and lovely service.A lovely breakfast with fresh hot food.The bed in my room (317)needs an extra matress as the springs were uncomfortable. Other than that we were happy!

Reviewer:Mrs. Carol F | Mon 31st Mar 2014 | 6 years ago


Happy visitor - Rating 5/5

Everything I wanted to make my visit a happy one.Just one suggestion:fresh fruit for Breakfast.Staff very helpful and friendly.Worth staying.

Reviewer:Mr. Colin C | Sun 9th Mar 2014 | 6 years ago


Room 402 - Rating 4/5

Clean and comfortable hotel in the middle of town right next to the High Street. Would recommend. The only minor failing was the inability in room 402 to achieve a mix of hot and cold water for a shower, but a very nice bath was a good substitute. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen W | Thu 13th Feb 2014 | 6 years ago


Castle - Rating 4/5

Efficient check in, friendly staff.Room clean and comfortable.Good value for money.

Reviewer:Mr. Iain N | Sun 9th Feb 2014 | 6 years ago


Castle Hotel stay August 2013 - Rating 3/5

I had an enjoyable holiday In Wales this August staying at the Castle Hotel. The room was very comfortable but the shower did not work properly - the hot water adjustment did not work. i had to use the sink to get hot water for washing. I asked at Reception about this but it was not fixed.

Reviewer:Mr. Colin D | Tue 8th Oct 2013 | 6 years ago


Castle hotel - Rating 5/5

excellent little hotel, we have stayed there a few times ,nothing is too much trouble,we arrived from a long flight Sunday morningand although we knew check in is normally 2pm the reception manager asked us to come back in hour and he would have uscheck in when cleaning staff came in @ 10am coming home there was no problem with reception printing off boarding passes all round a lovelyhotel with great staff we will be back:)

Reviewer:Mr. Paul C | Wed 2nd Oct 2013 | 6 years ago


stay 27.7.13 - Rating 4/5

The hotel is a little dated, it looks like a refurbished office block. The furnishing in the common parts do give the place a quirky charm along with the mis matched carpets and wallpaper.Our room was large, overlooking the street.Due to the proximity to the nightclubs of Merthyr, there was a lot of noise from late night revellers until about 1.30am.The room decor was again dated but in good repair.The bed was not the most comfortable and could do with being replaced.The bathroom was spacious with the exception of the not so nice shower curtain and rather small bath towels was very clean.In fact the hotel cannot be faulted on the cleanliness of the rooms.The staff i did speak were courteous and helpful.It would be good if you could inform guests where they can securly park, we originally parked in the car park near the fire station and when i spoke to the receptionist i was told that there was secure parking nearer the hotel.

Reviewer:Mrs. SuzanneHollamby| Mon 29th Jul 2013 | 6 years ago


Good stay - Rating 4/5

Comfortable although the room was a little airless despite opening windows. Food fine, all staff very helpful.

Reviewer:Mr. Nicholas C | Tue 7th May 2013 | 7 years ago


Good value - Rating 4/5

Although the decor of the Castle Hotel is not particularly modern I have to say that my room was big, clean and very good value for money.I would happily stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Carol J | Mon 15th Apr 2013 | 7 years ago


Book Online